• The IACT team

They say "many hands make light work", and that's certainly the case with InnovationACT. Each year, IACT is run by an enthusiastic Committee, an amazing group of IACT alumni known as the IACT Collective, a networking of mentors, and a panel of industry representatives who form our panel of judges.

The IACT Committee


The IACT Committee performs all the behind-the-scenes work to make the program possible. Led by a Program Manager and supported by experienced facilitators and volunteer student officers, the Committee is the first point of contact for InnovationACT teams.

Vicki Stanley Program Manager: Vicki has been managing IACT since 2014, and the rest of your day job is spent helping researchers at ANU to commercialise their innovative technologies. She has experience in marketing & communications, supporting early-stage startups, and has various networks within tertiary institutions.

Jayden Castillo Facilitator — Jayden comes from a science background and so is a passionate advocate for the practice of evidence-based business. Through his work at Accenture, Jayden has experience in design-thinking, lean and agile delivery, as well as a breadth of knowledge in innovation process and programs.

Chris Hind Facilitator — Since Chris first got involved with the program, four years ago, he has gone from participant to facilitator. He has founded and worked for a variety of Canberra startups, spent time as a community manager at Entry29, and teaches entrepreneurship at ANU. Chris looks to apply his background in law and government to assist new ventures.

Irene Zhen Facilitator— With a background in design-thinking, agile and lean startups, Irene is passionate about creating, and empowering others to create, high-impact and high-growth startups. She is particularly interested in businesses with an e-commerce and digital marketing flavour.

Charlie Qin Program Officer — Charlie is a third-year economics student at ANU with a strong interest in management consulting. Feel free to approach him about your business strategy! Charlie is happy to help with pricing, consumer outreach and cost mitigation.

William Yang Program Officer — William has lived in Shanghai and Singapore, gaining many connections in China, Southeast Asia and Australia, along the way. Currently, he is a Masters student at ANU and runs a small venture capital fund focusing on transformation of traditional industries. Having been involved in many projects across various fields, he considers himself a serial entrepreneur.

Amannda Huot Program Officer — Amannda is a second year Industrial Design student at The University of Canberra. Earlier this year, she travelled to Silicon Valley in Palo Alto to learn about design-thinking strategies and entrepreneurial skills. Amannda is knowledgeable about current business trends and feels passionately about the process of conceiving an idea and seeing it through to its production.

Jaimie McCaw Design Officer — Jaimie is a graphic design student at CIT and our very own in-house designer. She has a Diploma in International studies from UC and experience working in Hospitality and venue management. Jaimie is an entrepreneur herself, having authored, self-published and commercialised a fantasy comic.

Gonzalo Collarte Communications Officer — Gonzalo is a bilingual marketing and communications specialist with over 9 years of experience in branding, CRM, customer loyalty, project management, events and advertising. He is skilled in design tools (Adobe CC), video editing (Premiere), audio (Cakewalk) and email marketing software (Salesforce Marketing Cloud’s ExactTarget).

Carolina Otero Communications Officer — Carolina has a degree in journalism and is currently a Master of Communication student at UC. She is a VETASSES-accredited copywriter and has experience creating content for various types of media, including television and print, both in English and Spanish. Carolina is passionate about helping SMEs develop a digital marketing strategy.

The IACT Collective


The IACT Collective is a group of IACT alumni who join us at our workshops to help teams work through their exercises, sharing their own knowledge, skills and experiences with our budding entrepreneurs.

Tabassum Fakier (UX Developer – Australian National University): Tabs has experience with software engineering, graphic design, web development, user experience, branding, online learning, and leads Artifex ANU.

Logan Smithson (Software Engineer – General Dynamics Mediaware): Logan has experience in web development, programming, hardware prototyping, and electronics.

Hao Min (Senior Policy Analyst – Dept of Jobs & Small Business; Sessional Teacher – UC College): Hao is skilled around survey design, general idea/business development, presentations/pitching, statistics and stakeholder management

Michael Peralta (Founder – Kreatif; Community Manager – Entry 29): Michael has experience with branding and identity, user experience design and product design.

Raj Raj (Software Engineer – Skoolbo): Raj has experience in software engineering, web development and mobile applications.

Sasha Whittle (Community Manager – Square One)

Benjamin Maclaren (Science Communicator)

The mentors


We have an incredible network of mentors supporting the program each year. These entrepreneurs, consultants, investors, are all passionate about helping young entrepreneurs and kindly give up their time to guide our teams through the program. Meet the IACT18 mentors.

The judges


The IACT judges are a carefully selected group of experts who represent the local innovation community, and will be evaluating and giving feedback to our teams. The judging panel for IACT18 is made up of:

Anna Pino (Lighthouse Business Innovation Centre)

Brent Chick (ACT Government)

Cindy Reese Mitchell (Mill House Social Enterprise Accelerator)

Jamie Penrose (IP Australia)

Petr Adamek (Canberra Innovation Network)